Nut butter Anonymous

My name is Sarah, and I have a problem. I’m addicted to nut butters.

“Hi Sarah!”

My love for nut butters goes wayyyyy back. I’ve always loved peanut butter. PB&J’s are my JAM! And who doesn’t love a spoonful or a finger of peanut butter. (right Julie?!)

After I got into reading healthy living blogs, I noticed that a lot of people use nut butters in a lot of meals including oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, salads, sandwiches, etc. It’s an awesome source of good fats, protein, and flavor.

When I moved, I gained access to the wonder that is Whole Foods. I love browsing Whole Foods and finding awesome new products that you won’t find in any other generic grocery store. That’s where I discovered my love…

GIVE IT TO ME!!!

This morning was a meal devoted to a recent find at Trader Joe’s: sunflower seed butter. Sunflower butter made from sunflower seeds? Yum!

This morning’s breakfast was created to try said sunflower seed butter: oatmeal!

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup water
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 2 tbs ground flax
  • 1 big spoonful of sunflower butter

I mixed the first 4 ingredients together, microwaved for 3 min and boom. Done. Added the ground flax and sunflower butter and this is what I got.

But something was missing…

I added a small handful of Trader Joe’s pumpkin spice granola. Breakfast is complete!

I liked the sunflower butter. It was smoother than my beloved Justin’s, but it was creamy and rich without being too much. I find that peanut butter is sometimes too much in oatmeal. A little too ‘stick-to-my-ribs’ (and the roof of my mouth).

Readers: Does anyone else share my obsession with nut butters? Any nut butters out there that I should try?

