War Horse

There are many reasons why I’m looking forward to Christmas this year. I’m looking forward to seeing my family in New York and spending a few days with B and my parents in my hometown.

Yes, this is my family, and we are awesome.

I’m also looking forward to seeing old friends from high school. Now that we all have moved to different parts of the country, it’s tough to get together all at one time. I think this Christmas will be the first time we’ll all be back in New York together for at least a couple days.

Can't wait to see this guy!

But one thing that makes me REALLY excited for Christmas are the awesome movies that come out around holiday time. With the Academy Awards being handed out a couple months after, many movies that are big contenders come out during this time. One movie in particular I am super jazzed about is Steven Spielberg’s War Horse. If you haven’t seen the trailer for it, check it out.

 

The film is based on a children’s book by the same name by Michael Morpurgo. The story is about a young boy whose horse, Joey, is taken away from him to be shipped to France to fight with the British army during WWWI. Both horse and owner then go on a great odyssey to find each other again. The book was then adapted into a play in London in 2007. After becoming hugely popular in London, the play moved to Broadway where it is currently playing. War Horse on Broadway has received 5 Tony Awards, including best play.

I’ve been DYING to see this show ever since I saw a CBS Sunday Morning feature all about it. The coolest thing about this show is that the horses used are life-sized puppets similar to puppets in the Lion King in that they are controlled by actors. 2 – 3 actors control the horse’s movements which allow the most lifelike experience. It’s incredible to think that almost 10 million horses died in WWI. They were considered to be expendable and just another machine in war. It’s horrible to think about, which adds another layer when thinking about the story. They had no choice.

As a past horse owner, parting with my horse was one of the worst experiences of my entire life. I remember that day like it was yesterday. We sold my horse the summer after my 3rd year of college because it become impractical to keep him. I was away in Boston and planned on staying, and he wasn’t being used to his full capacity.

Ace and me two months after we bought him

He loved to jump and compete and I just couldn’t do that with him from 150 miles away anymore. When we finally did find a new owner for him, I cried myself to sleep for days. We personally knew the person who would buying him, which made me feel much more at ease about the whole situation. We knew he was going to a training barn that was safe, fun, and had lots of students who would now have the chance to learn from him like I did. I had Ace for over 5 years, and it was the best 5 years of my life. The moment his lead left my hand and went into the hand of someone else, and he was loaded onto a trailer, I lost it.

Goofball

I miss him and riding everyday, but I knew it was something that I had to do for him. He’s doing awesome now — still competing and winning competitions like a boss. I can connect with the boy in the story of War Horse, which is why I cannot wait to see the film version this Christmas. I also am dying to see the Broadway show, even though I know I’ll end up crying like a baby the entire time.

 

Are there any movies that you’re looking forward to this holiday season? I want to see the new Muppets Movie as well! I just rented all of the old Muppet films on Netflix to get ready. The Muppets Take Manhattan, anyone?

