A Stroke of Good Luck

Congratulations to the New England Patriots who defeated the Baltimore Ravens last night! We’re going to the Superbowl!

Last night, Bernie, his roommate, and I watched the game with baited breath. I think everyone in New England was worried. Brady didn’t play his best game, and both our defense and offense were missing completely. Brady had one of the most important plays of the game: his very graceful swan dive for a touchdown. I’m in shock that he wasn’t broken in half when he landed.

[Source]

The biggest stroke of luck of the night was when Billy Cundiff missed the 32-yard field goal with 11 seconds of the game left. As they were setting up the field goal kick, I turned to Bernie and said, “Watch, he’s gonna miss it like the B.C. game we saw”. I was referring to a Boston College football game that we went to this Fall where the kicker missed the field goal with 10 seconds or so left in the game, causing the Eagles to lose the game. Before I knew it, it happened. Cundiff missed it, by A LOT. I think every person in New England were in shock. That never happens! No one misses a 32 yard field goal! Talk about luck. Brady was NOT good last night, and he later admitted to it saying he “sucked tonight”, and it was gonna be a tough OT if the Ravens kicker made the field goal. After the missed kick heard ’round the world happened, Bernie and his roommate were both in shock. With mouths agape, they looked at each other and cheered. We’re going to the Superbowl!? This picture of Vince Wilfork just standing on the field pretty much summed it up perfectly. Awesome.

[Source]

It was also a great day for Boston sports — not only did the Patriots win, but the Bruins won in overtime and Celtics won (finally). Good day.

Being from New York, the Giants are a big deal. My family is actually a Jets family, but I have extended family that cheer for the Giants. This Superbowl is going to be the ultimate re-match from the ’08 loss to the Giants. I was actually home in NY during that game and cheered on the Giants. Oh, how time has changed! Everyone in New England was in mourning after that game, so emotions are running pretty high right now. We’ll see what the next 2 weeks bring, but I cannot wait!

Did you watch either football game last night? Who were you rooting for? Who do you think will win the Superbowl?

Fun fact: I was actually born on Superbowl Sunday in 1988. The Superbowl was also on my birthday in ’93 and ’99, but I only remember celebrating in ’99.

77 thoughts on “A Stroke of Good Luck

    • Agree, it will definitely be a very good game. This is the type of Super Bowl game that we dream of — two very strong teams, with the added bonus of the ’08 rematch story line. Can’t wait!

    • Im picking the Giants not because i like them but because i think the Ravens lost the AFC championship game more than the Patriots won it themselves,and once again i think its Eli’s turn too prove he is as good as Brady.

  1. Being a Raven’s fan, I’m still in shock. But my husband is a Giants fan, so it wasn’t all tears last night. Congrats on being “Freshly Pressed”. Fantastic post, despite your team. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m in northern Nevada, so we were definitely watching the ‘9ers game…and WAY disappointed at the outcome.

    However, these were two great games. The Super Bowl should be an interesting match-up, if the playoffs offered any hints…

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • From my experience Giants are going to win the super bowl. The 9ers lost because they did not have a great QB nor offense, and New England does not have a good defense. Good defense+ Good QB+ Great running back= Winning the game.

  3. I must admit I’m a Giants fan. But either way there will be a ticker tape parade somewhere in the Northeast on February 6th. Woohoo!

  4. I’m rooting for the Giants to win. I’m actually a Colts fan, but since Peyton won’t be at the Superbowl, I’m cheering for Eli. I love those Manning brothers!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great post and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  5. I am rooting for the Patriots to pull it out! My boyfriend & step Dad are HUGE pats fans. GO PATRIOTS!

  6. I’m a Ravens fan. While I was also totally shocked Cundiff whiffed that field goal attempt so badly, I wasn’t nearly as excited about it as you were ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was hoping for an all-Harbaugh Super Bowl, but they both got knocked out yesterday, so I think I’m going to have to pull for the Giants.

    My husband’s 18th birthday was Jan. 28, 2001, the day the Ravens won their only Super Bowl to date. He’s a Steelers fan, haha!

  7. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed. I am a Baltimore native and everyone in Baltimore is hurt after yesterday. You could feel it in the air today. Anyway, Billy Cundiff better be looking for a new place to live because I’m sure he won’t be welcome here anymore.

    • Thank you! The fresh press was a total surprise to me! Boston has definitely been there in the very recent history with the whole “hush of sadness” feeling after a sports loss. Definitely after the epic September collapse of the Red Sox, the city was in mourning for a few weeks. I do feel the pain of the Baltimore fans. No one wants to lose like that. That was a painful one.

  8. It was a good game and the Ravens will probably looking for a new kicker next season. Let’s hope that the Super Bowl is a repeat of the thriller when these two teams met. You got to hand it to the Giants, in the last two weeks, they stopped two of the league’s best offenses.

  9. So sad. I was so, so sad. I was sitting there with my mouth hanging open as well, in total shock. Ugh. I don’t even want to think about it. I’m going to have to stop writing soon before I experience anymore traumatization from that game ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Yes, I am clearly a Ravens fan. But I will still cheer for the Pats in their epic rematch against the Giants. Congrats to you and your team ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. It never comes down to just the last play that wins or loses. Each game has dropped passes, missed interceptions, sloppy tackles, blown coverages and so on. It always seems like it’s the last play that lost or won it and technically you can say that, but that game in particular had many missed opportunities by both teams. That said, I was jumping up and down in front of the TV shouting, “He missed it! He missed it!” Go TomBrady!

  11. I would have to say. As much as I love football, I will probably not be watching the SB this year. I was excited about the possibilities for this year. I am not a sore loser. Out of all the teams in the NFL, there are only two teams that I absolutely despise, the patriots and the redskins. Beyond my hate for these two teams, I love the sport and these two teams do have players that I like. In the end, the better teams won on Sunday but the football fans lost !!

  12. I was watching! Big Pats fan (naturally, being from MA). Loved the pictures you chose for this post. As you’re a Jets fan, I hope you’re not hoping for a Giants win ๐Ÿ˜‰ … that was a pretty bad game for us, and I’m hoping the rematch against the Giants proves a victory for NE. But, I do feel bad for Cundiff (and believe me, I’m already sick of my friends’ Cundiff jokes), but let’s face it, the guy choked and we won. We were ahead, after all!

    Great post, allowing me to yet again relive the utter surprise I experienced at winning. Also, like some others said, congrats on being freshly pressed.

    • My family was a Jets family, but I never really got into football. I was an equal opportunity fan, but I am MOST DEFINITELY staying loyal to the Pats for the Super Bowl. My boyfriend would disown me otherwise ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. great post, huge pats fan here. I think I jumped through the ceiling when the kick was wide

  14. ็ด ๆ™ดใ‚‰ใ—ใ„ใงใ™ใ€‚
    ใ—ใ‹ใ‚‚ใ€็†ฑๆฐ—ใง้ ญใ‹ใ‚‰ๆนฏๆฐ—ใŒไธŠใŒใฃใฆใ‚‹ใฎใŒใ€่ฟซๅŠ›ใŒใ‚ใ‚Šใพใ™ใญใ€‚
    GOODใงใ™๏ผ

  15. With everything closed and a day-off in celebration of “Lunar New Year” in South Korea, it was great to be on-the-edge of my seat watching the Patriots win among a group of Ravens fans. GO PATS!

  16. Here in New York City, we obviously were very interested in both of yesterday’s games. In one, I was obviously rooting for the Giants, but in the other I was pulling hard for New England (which is its own conundrum now that the Super Bowl is all set).

    The picture you have up of Brady’s dive is awesome, but even more impressive was how he basically got flipped over right after that and somehow survived without an injury. Like you, I thought for certain that he had broken his back on that play. Thankfully, such was not the case.

    My only questions today regarding the AFC Championship: Where is the Ravens kicker and will he be back?

  17. As a Ravens fan, I don’t think I’ve ever been as disappointed in my life as I was last night. I feel especially bad for Billy Cundiff, but it wasn’t completely his fault. There were a number of factors that could have prevented that. But congratulations to New England on the win, though I think I may have to root for the Giants in the Superbowl, haha. I also thought for a minute I may be a Superbowl 1988 Baby as well, only to see I was born a week later. Haha darn.

  18. Lucky to be sure. That’s why home field advantage is so important. Then again, Baltimore was lucky Brady was having a bad game or lucky the refs didn’t call on of Baltimore TD’s back.

  19. I’m a little disappointed I’ll be away from the home front (Boston) for the Super Bowl, it happened to me during the ’07 World Series, too. I forget to think of ideal playoff outcomes when booking travel!

  20. Being a Dolphins fan, I am no fan of the Patriots or any other team for that matter. That being said, I am a big fan of great coaches and great quarterbacks. It is what has made the NFL awesome for the last sixty years.
    New England has both.
    New York does as well.
    New England has the better offense.
    New York has the better defense.
    New England has the better quarterback, but you can flip a coin on which one is playing better right now.
    It should be an awesome Super Bowl.

    Tim

  21. I watched it…the Ravens gave that game to the Patriots. Oh well, there’s always next time.

  22. I’m an Eagles fan, but my franchise team in Madden is the Giants. So definitely hoping the Giants win this year.

  23. Am in The Netherlands, and am a Seahawks fan since 1984.
    But I love the Patriots. What I like about Brady is that he is cool and his celebrity status does not effect him. He goes about his way in an easy matter. Human.
    Watched the game against the Ravens and the 3 hours it lasted were very tense; always expecting the Ravens to break out somehow.
    Belicheck will find a way to the Giants defense.
    Congrats Patriots !

  24. As a Colts fan, I’m sour about this season but am thrilled with the #1 pick. Needless to say, I despise the Patriots and the New England area. My 2nd favorite team is the Baltimore Ravens, so when they lost to the Patriots it made me despise the Patriots even more. With the connection between the Manning’s, I have to say GO G-MEN!

  25. Pingback: Freshly Pressed and Freshly Roasted | Blonde Bostonian

  26. I’m thinking that the Patriots will have a chance to redeem themselves for the Loss to the Giants in a previous Superbowl. The Giants stole their perfect season in the last moments of the game. You can bet the patriot’s will be ready to win this one! Should be a great game!

  27. Rooting for the Patriots. We were CRUSHED by the Giant’s loss on the 07 -08Superbowl!Giants look intimidating! They have three deep threats and an awesome defensive line/pass rush. I think the Patriots are the weaker team but we are still HUGE Patriot fans. Giants looked like the weaker team in 07 so maybe my low expectations for a Patriot win might be a good thing. I think I need anxiety medication while I watch this rematch though lol

    • Based on the Patriots’ game against the Ravens, I am very worried. The Giants are looking fantastic, and I just hope the team steps it up. If we play like we did against the Ravens, we will most certainly lose. Crossing my fingers!!! Go Pats!

  28. It really must stink for all sports fans outside of Boston. It seems like every year in every sport bean town is just crushing it…New York would be the closest but they’re still lagging behind…

    Bruins…. Celts…. Sox…. Pats…..

    Does any other state come close to Boston?

    That wilfork picture is epic

    • We have definitely been very spoiled lately, that is for sure. It’s beginning to become a bit of a problem though – the citizens expect our sports teams to do well every year, and when they don’t people get really upset. It’s hard to constantly live up to that high of a standard at all times. The Red Sox this year were a perfect example: we expected them to take it all the way to the world series, and then September happened…the city mourned that for a little while.

      • True….but are you saying that fans shouldn’t expect greatness? As a former athlete, I believe that added pressure forces out a players A game.

      • No, I’m not saying that — fans should definitely expect greatness! I think it’s just unfortunate when fans expect greatness without always supporting the team through good times and bad. There are a lot of bandwagon fans in Boston who get on and off the wagon depending upon how the team is doing. That’s unfortunate.

  29. It was definitely a good game but it was so sad to see the Ravens lose. If they were ever going to go to the Superbowl again any time soon, it would have been this year. Congrats to the Patriots, but I hope the Giants win ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers!

  30. I was actually rooting for the Pats when the game started but I was not happy when the game ended. The Ravens played such good football to lose it like that. What I was impressed by was Ray Lewis’ speech after the game, if you haven’t seen it, you must check it out.

  31. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part ๐Ÿ™‚ I care for such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  32. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Superb work!

  33. As a Steelers fan, it’s painful to watch your Pats in the Super Bowl. But, as one AFC fan to another, I wish your squad the best.

    P.S. Nice blog!

Comments are closed.