Blog Updates!

Happy ‘Hump Day’ everyone!

Since I started this blog back in December, I’ve been trying to learn how to make Blonde Bostonian posts more interesting, the site easier to navigate, and the blog homepage more robust and fun! It’s been a work-in-progress, but I feel like my blog has been blossoming into much more of a “runner’s blog” lately. This was not my original intention, but since the blog is about my life right now, it’s sort of just turned out that way. All I seem to do lately is wake up, go to work, train, eat, sleep, repeat. This is fine, but I’m almost starting to look forward to the day where my schedule can be a bit more flexible and fun. There is no such thing as going out on Saturday nights anymore. Beer is not a running fuel, unfortunately. For example: I have to miss Girls’ Night 2 (remember girls’ night #1?) and a St. Patrick’s Day bar crawl I did last year – all because of my running schedule.

But it was so much fun...

I have to keep reminding myself that what I’m doing right now is hard, and that sometimes doing things that are hard comes with sacrifices. I think I can justify making the sacrifice of not going out on the weekends that much if it means that I complete one of my big fitness goals – finishing a half marathon. When you’re 24 and everyone around you is going out and doing fun things on a Saturday night, it’s really hard to not feel like you’re missing out. I’m struggling with this somewhat, but I know that the last 2 months of hard work will pay off come March 18th.

Speaking of which: I added a new countdown calendar for the marathon to the homepage!

Does this mean it’s real!?

I also decided to ‘up’ my social media game and created a Facebook fan page for Blonde Bostonian. You can “like” Blonde Bostonian by going to the Facebook page with this link, or “like” me on the blog homepage.

I hope you guys follow me – it will be a space where you can find new blog posts, photos, and more! I can’t wait to start using it!

Also, I’ve updated some of the pages recently:

  • My “All Things Boston” page features links to the websites of some of my favorite restaurants and places to go. Boston is a great culinary city and there are a TON of places that I haven’t included that I’d love to try. I’ll be sure to start doing more reviews.
  • The ‘Fitness’ page has been updated with some posts about marathon training, as well as two treadmill workouts I designed.
  • The ‘Travel Tuesday’ page has been updated with links to all TT posts. Travel Tuesday has been somewhat sporadic these last couple weeks. Between work being crazy and having yesterday off, there was no post this week – but they will be back. I am also working on getting some fellow traveler friends to guest post for Travel Tuesdays! Have you traveled anywhere recently and want to guest post? Let me know!

I’m constantly trying to think of ways to make my blog better. It’s a learning process and I’m only just beginning.

 

Fellow bloggers and readers: How long after you started blogging did you figure out your blog’s “voice”? What is your blog about? I sometimes feel like my running schedule gets in the way of my social life – so you ever feel the same way and if so, how do you handle it?

2 thoughts on “Blog Updates!

  1. My blog’s in it’s second month (and here I am, passing “awards” on to you after having received them myself) and I have no idea yet where I’m really going with it. It’s kind of all over the place, but I have a feeling this might remain a somewhat constant piece of my particular puzzle. It’s doing pretty well with visitors and comments and such, so I’ll take it. I’m not overly busy now but I think it’s tough balancing work, fun, self-imposed goals or requirements, etc. I know when I’m doing certain things (working toward a goal or something, like you), I have a lot less time for other things. One friend of mine works almost constantly, but works in as much fun as he can. I know he thinks he’s not quite having enough, but he’s doing his best. Oh well…

    • I really like what you said – “It’s kind of all over the place, but I have a feeling this might remain a somewhat constant piece of my particular puzzle.” It’s definitely a challenge to keep up with blogging when you’re extremely busy. Work/life/other things do get in the way – which is why I sometimes have weeks where I blog almost everyday, and others where I’m lucky if I blog 3 times. That puzzle is always changing so its good to have a piece that stays pretty much the same. Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.