Trader Joe’s Lovin’

Happy Friday everyone! Who’s pumped up for the weekend?!

In Boston, we have quite a few choices for grocery stores; Shaws, Star Market, Market Basket, Hannaford, Stop and Shop, Whole Foods, etc. But the one that has a special place in my heart is Trader Joe’s. I remember being introduced to TJ’s in college. We never had one growing up in Upstate New York and when I discovered the little grocery store, my mind was blown. Healthy, creative, fun food items for cheap!? It’s a miracle!

When I was in college, the closest TJ’s was in the Back Bay, about a 20 minute walk from the NEU dorms and about a 30 min walk from my apartment Junior/Senior year. It was pretty easy to hop on the T and head down. Then I discovered the other TJ’s in Coolidge Corner – a larger TJ’s that sold beer and wine. Amazing.

I now live 1 mile from the Coolidge Corner TJ’s, which is both a blessing and a curse. It’s close enough for me to walk, but if I need a lot of things, I have to drive or wrestle the T with bags of groceries.

So this past weekend, I took the car and headed down to TJ’s for my weekly shopping. I haven’t been in a few months and I now know why I don’t go very often – I always leave with a big grocery bill. Oops. Oh well.

Two of my impulse buys are Quinoa and Black Bean chips and Fig Butter. The chips are amazing! They have a light taste with a hint of lime and are reallllyyyyyy crunchy! Yumm! šŸ™‚

The fig butter is also equally amazing.

It tastes like the inside of a fig newton, which is pretty much the best packaged cookie ever.

This morning my breakfast consisted of a sort of deconstructed “pb&j” with Ezekiel bread, fig butter, crunchy almond butter, and banana slices.

Probably one of my favorite breakfasts in a while. I think this fig butter would be perfect with some sort of grilled cheese with prosciutto and brie. Hmmm.

What are some of your favorite new foods? Have you ever been to a Trader Joe’s? Any exciting plans for this weekend?

7 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Lovin’

  1. Obviously I love TJs šŸ™‚ and the fig butter is one of my favorites! I also buy their frozen fruit and veggies because it is such better quality than other stores and cheaper than Whole Foods.

    • I love their frozen fruit – I use them all the time in smoothies. I definitely agree; the quality is much better than some other frozen items in larger grocery stores and for much less.

  2. I’ve got to say that I’m jealous I don’t live near a TJ’s or Whole Foods. There are still some amazing options around here, but when I see all the fun foods (like fig butter!) that people get at these stores I wish I lived near one! šŸ™‚

  3. I love the Dark Chocolate Covered Edamame and Green Tea Mints from TJ’s. I’m a TJ addict. 19cent bananas? Yes please!

  4. LOVE trader joe’s! we don’t have them here in utah, but they were all over the place in california where i went to college. i miss it! i’ve never tried their fig butter though… i’ll have to try that when i get a chance to go again.

Comments are closed.