Blue to Brown

Sorry I’ve been M.I.A. the last couple of days, but Bernie and I have been holed up in his condo finishing one of the major project left, painting.

For anyone who has ever bought a new house or rented a new apartment, you know there’s nothing like paint to freshen up a room or change the mood in a house. When Bernie moved into his condo back in October, we knew painting was going to have to happen. So far, we’ve painted the kitchen, entryway, and his bedroom. This weekend, we tackled the living room and the second bedroom. The second bedroom was a HORRIBLE yellow – I’m talking highlighter yellow. After some decision, we settled on a nice dark gray. It looks amazing!

Sunday morning, we woke up exhausted, but we had the largest room left – the living room.

When Bernie bought the place, we knew we wanted to change the blue. The color was nice, but it just wasn’t what we were going for. We settled on a nice golden tan color, which sets off the original molding nicely. Here’s the finished product!

We love it!

This condo redo has been quite the process. When I met Bernie, he was living with his parents outside of Boston and working full time in the financial world to save up enough money to purchase a condo for himself in the city. He worked for years and eventually saved enough money to purchase his two-bedroom condo in Boston that he has now. Searching for the condo was even more of a process. He lost two condos before he finally found this one. I tagged along during the whole search and saw some nice places, and some not so nice places. Boston has a lot of older buildings, so new construction is out of the question, and it’s hard to find older places that have been taken care of properly. The place he eventually bought wasn’t the nicest, but it was in the best area and had potential. Once he moved in, he knew that he wanted to change some things including the bathroom (which was SCARY bad) and the kitchen. At the moment, the bathroom has been completely renovated. It was teared down to the studs and completely rebuilt. It looks amazing. I’ll have to put some pictures up sometime soon. I wish I had taken before photos, but the reno happened so quickly that I didn’t have time to. If I had ‘before’ photos, you could see how much of a dramatic change it it.

I’ve also been involved during all the renovations, helping Bernie select tiles and paint colors. It’s been really fun. I was the girl whose father bowed down to the temple that is This Old House and who could fix anything in our home. He built our back deck completely by himself when I was younger and it still stands strong to this day. I love renovations.

With me moving in this summer, I’ve been helping him decorate and make his condo more of a home. Now with the paint on the walls, we have a blank canvas to make our own. I’m so proud of Bernie for figuring out what he wanted at such a young age and working his ass off to get it. I know he complains sometimes about how expensive it is to be a homeowner (well, duh babe) but he has a lot to be proud of. At 24, he’s a homeowner. Not many people can say that.

We started off the decorating by hanging the first photo in the living room – one of our favorite pictures from our trip to Italy blown up on a canvas.

Readers: How was your weekend? Do anything exciting? Have you ever done home renovations/home improvement projects? Tell me about them!

5 thoughts on “Blue to Brown

  1. The apartment I’m in now is the first one I’ve ever had without white walls and I couldn’t agree with you more that it’s amazing what a difference paint makes! My boyfriend and I went apt hunting [in NYC] this weekend for our first place together…I hear you on the search being a process….”would you like a million dollar shoe box? no? perhaps you should move out of new york” anyway…we put in an app for a place – fingers crossed! Have fun decorating!

    • Good luck with the apartment!! That’s what I hear about NYC – crazy expensive. Downtown Boston is pretty similar. A 1 bedroom place in Beacon Hill can be upwards of $2500 a month with no utilities included. Crazy.

  2. Pingback: My 23 Hour Trip | Blonde Bostonian

Comments are closed.