WIAW #2: Nonstop Hunger {What I Ate Wednesday}

Hello friends, and happy Wednesday! Since I like order and schedules (I’m weird like that) I’m going to continue with the tradition of What I Ate Wednesdays. Head over to Peas and Crayons to check it out! This month is all about adding an extra cup of veggies to meals. I think I did alright, but I know I could have done better.

Breakfast: 1 vanilla Chobani yogurt, with 1 tbs ground flax, blueberries, and some Quaker Oatmeal Squares. Hmmm. Never get tired of Greek Yogurt.

Lunch: A turkey and cheese sandwich. I feel like a little kid again every time I eat them – this was my mom’s go-to when we were kids – but it’s a little more adult now. Organic roasted turkey breast, muenster cheese, dijon mustard, baby greens, and Ezekiel bread.

and some pretty sad looking grapes. They still tasted yummy.

A couple hours later, I had an apple pie Larabar. My hunger was on fire today!

Snack: After work and a good gym session (my foot is feeling so much better! I was so tempted to run but I held back) I headed home to shower. While waiting for Bernie to finish up at the gym, I had a protein shake. Chocolate protein powder+ice+water.

Once Bernie got back, I headed over to his place to make dinner for us.

Dinner: Chicken breasts, roasted sweet potatoes and broccoli, and rice pilaf. On the sweet potatoes was some olive oil, salt, pepper, and cinnamon (yum). After roasting for about 10 minutes, I added the broccoli so it wouldn’t burn. Paired with some wine, it was a perfect dinner.

What are some of your favorite eats lately? What’s your favorite way to add veggies to your meals?

5 thoughts on “WIAW #2: Nonstop Hunger {What I Ate Wednesday}

  1. I love veggies. I could probably eat veggies with every single meal of the day (including breakfast). However, I don’t really like fruit. So any ideas to fix that problem? haha

    As for my veggie infusing tips- I’m not a huge sweets person. So if if I have the time to make breakfast (usually I force myself to eat Greek yogurt) I make eggs and add some peppers, onions, broccoli..something green to my scramble.
    For lunch I like salads or veggie sandwiches (I don’t eat meat often). If you can get into mushrooms, they actually trick your stomach and mind into thinking you had meat. So mushroom burgers or adding sauteed mushrooms to a wrap will fill you up.
    For dinner I always include vegetables. If I make pasta I saute some onions and peppers in garlic and add that to my sauce. Or I will add an assortment of veggies to quinoa or rice for my side. Making vegetable and beans tacos is another great way to get a well rounded meal.

    I think the key to making vegetables more appealing is using the right seasonings and olive oil.
    Sorry this was long! Hope it was helpful!

  2. All of your eats look great! I’ve never thought to put flax in greek yogurt but that’s a really good idea!

    Also, I’m glad to hear your foot is feeling better 🙂

Comments are closed.